FYI – Simon Johansson

He works at the local Volvo factory of his town, is afraid of sharks and is going to Crankworx, Whistler next summer. This is Simon Johansson, the steeziest guy from Sweden. Plain and simple.

Introduce yourself.

Hi my name is Simon Johansson and I’m 20 years old. I live in a small town called Skövde in Sweden and I love to ride bikes.

What do you do for living?

This last summer I graduated from high school and started working at the local Volvo factory.

How did you get involved with bicycles?

I was watching the older guys ride and I was like “Wow I want to do that.”


What is your best memory to date?

I think that my best memory from mountain biking is when I did my first no-foot can-can. It was one of the first tricks I learned and I was so stoked.

Are there any riders or things that inspire you and keep you motivated?

I love to watch videos and ride with my friends, that’s what gets me motivated.

Could you describe your riding style in five words?

I don’t know how to describe my riding style, but I try to make it look stylish and simple.


Have you suffered any injuries because of riding? What does your family think about that?

I have been lucky with the injuries. I have some problems with my ankles but that’s it.

My parents like what I do, because I get to know a lot of people, but at the same time they are worried and remember me to be careful.

Is there something that scares you and nobody else knows?

Hmm… I’m afraid of sharks and snakes.

If you had to choose one of these three things, what would it be?

1. Getting a cover of a famous mountain-bike magazine.

2. Winning a well-known contest.

3. Filming a full-length video part with the best film-makers.

It’s a tough one, but I’m not much of a competition rider, so I would choose filming for a full-length video part, that would be sick.


What are your thoughts on the bicycle industry?

I think it’s going to the right direction.

What are your plans for next year?

I plan to go to Whistler for the Crankworx festival. Other than that I think I will just ride my bike… And maybe do some contests.

What places would you like to visit?

There are so many places I would like to go but my number one dream have always been Canada. It looks amazing.


Tell us your current set-up.

It’s a 2009 Scott Voltage frame with an Argyle RCT fork, Avid X0 breaks, the Chromag Fubar OSX bar and Ranger stem, Chromag Overture seat, Truvativ Descendant crankset and Mavic 721 wheels laced to Hope pro 2 hubs.

If there is anyone that you would like to thank or say anything to them, now it’s your time.

I would like to thank Travis at Lavan and the guys at LiveFast for the support.

· · ·

Photos by André Nordblom

Like us on Facebook, follow us on Instagram & subscribe to our Youtube channel.